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Leaving State
Employment

When leaving State of Alaska
employment you must make
several important decisions
about your contributions to the
retirement system, the Alaska
Supplemental Annuity Plan,
Alaska Deferred Compensation
Plan, and your medical coverage
and life insurance.
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IMPORTANT!

Read this brochure and the plan booklets
carefully before making decisions that affect
your benefits.

Although the information in this brochure covers
the plans as they exist today, you should always
contact your Human Resources Office or the
Division of Retirement and Benefits for complete
and up-to-date information.

The information in this brochure is not intended
to replace the Alaska Statutes, the Alaska
Administrative Code or Federal law. Language
contained in the Alaska Statutes, the Alaska
Administrative Code and the plan documents
govern the plans.

www.state.ak.us/drb

The Alaska Department of Administration complies with
Title II of the 1990 Americans with Disabilities Act. This
publication is available in alternative communication
formats upon request. To make necessary arrangements,
contact the Division of Retirement and Benefits, ADA
Coordinator, at (907) 465-4460 or the TDD for the hearing
impaired at (907) 465-2805.
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Public Employees’
Retirement System

When you leave state employment and you are

participating in the Public Employees’ Retirement

System (PERS), you may choose to retire (if eli-

gible), leave your contributions in the PERS, or

refund your contributions.

4+ If you are retiring, contact Pre-Retirement
Services at (907) 465-5700 at least 90 days in
advance of your planned retirement date to
obtain the required forms and information.
Make sure you are eligible to retire before
you terminate employment.

4+ If you are vested (have at least 5 paid-up
years of creditable PERS service), you may
terminate and receive a retirement benefit
when you reach retirement age. You must
leave your contributions in the system to
receive a retirement benefit.

4+ You may refund your PERS account after
being terminated from employment for 60
days (or anytime after that).

Retirement Eligibility:

To receive PERS monthly retirement benefits, you

must meet certain age and service requirements. If

you first entered PERS employment:

4+ After June 30, 1986, you may retire at age 60 for
normal or age 55 for early retirement.

4+ Before July 1, 1986, you may retire at age 55 for
normal or age 50 for early retirement.

PERS members must also have at least:
4 Five paid-up years of PERS service; or

4+ 80 days (60 days if you were first hired before
May 30, 1987) during each of five legislative

Sessions; or




4+ Two paid-up years of PERS service if you are
vested in the Teachers' Retirement System
(TRS).

You may retire at any age with full benefits if you have at
least:

4+ 30 paid-up years of PERS service; or
4 20 paid-up years of PERS service as a peace
officer or fire fighter.

If you have taken leave without pay in excess of 10
days in any calendar year, it will affect your date of
retirement eligibility.

It does not pay to delay! Once you are eligible for
a normal retirement benefit, you will not receive a
higher PERS benefit if you have stopped working in
a PERS position and delay receiving a retirement
benefit until after your normal retirement age. See
Retirement Benefits, Death Benefits, and Insurance in the
PERS Information Handbook for details.

Retirement Medical Benefits

While you are receiving monthly retirement
benefits, you may be eligible for system-paid
medical benefits. If you are not eligible for system-
paid benefits, you may choose to purchase
coverage.

The State of Alaska retirement systems provide
extensive and valuable benefits for you and your
family including hospitalization, medical, surgical,
maternity care, and other services necessary for
the diagnosis and treatment of an injury or
disease.

Your health care coverage is good worldwide.
These benefits may change from time to time.
Contact the Division of Retirement and Benefits for
the most current information and to determine
your eligibility.




Decisions Regarding Your
Contribution Account

If you are not eligible to retire from the PERS, you
have choices to make regarding your contribution
account. You can:

4 leave your contributions in the system and
retain your benefit tier in anticipation of future
work with the Alaska PERS;

4+ refund your contributions; or

4+ elect to convert your defined benefit account to
the PERS Tier IV Defined Contribution Retire-
ment Plan if you are not vested.

Leaving Your Contributions in PERS

If you are not retiring, you may choose to leave your
contributions in your PERS account when you leave
state employment. To maintain rights to PERS
benefits, inactive (terminated) PERS members must
apply for a refund or benefit before July 1 following
their 75th birthday or within 50 years of the last
active date of PERS membership. It is very impor-
tant to notify the division about changes to your
address and the address of your beneficiary.

PERS Refunds

You may refund your PERS contribution account at
any time after being terminated from employment
for at least 60 days. To request a refund, you must

complete a Refund Election form (GEN008).

Your employee contribution account includes: 1)
your mandatory contributions; 2) any indebtedness
principal and interest payments; and 3) interest
earned.

If you refund your PERS account, you will not be
eligible for a retirement benefit unless you return to
PERS or TRS employment prior to July 1, 2010, and
reinstate your refunded service or accumulate
enough additional paid-up service to retire.
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If you are married, a notarized consent from your
spouse on the Refund Election form (GEN008) is
required if you are vested and want to receive a
refund of your contributions. (Some exceptions may
apply).

Refunds are subject to state and federal taxes or
penalties. This does not apply to the untaxed PERS
refund amount transferred directly, through a plan-
to-plan transfer into a qualified plan.

If you are vested and die before retiring, your
spouse may receive a monthly survivor benefit if
you haven't refunded your contributions.

Please see the PERS Information Handbook for more
details. Division employees do not give tax advice.
You are encouraged to contact a tax expert for
advice about how a contribution refund will affect
you.

Conversion Option (available to
nonvested members only)

Nonvested state employees have the option to
convert from their current PERS defined benefit plan
(Tier I, Il or I1I) to the PERS defined contribution
plan (Tier IV). Eligible members should consult the
available PERS Choice Kit, as well as the defined
contribution plan information available on the
division’s website.

This election must be made before your vesting
date in addition to the earlier of June 30, 2007, or
your final day of state service. In addition, IRS
regulations require that if you plan to leave state
service during December 2006, the election form
must be either received or postmarked by
November 30, 2006. If you are married, your
spouse must agree to the conversion election.
Other limitations may apply.




Contact the division’s Pre-Retirement Services Unit
for more information.

Leaving State Employment
because of Disability

If you are terminating your employment because of
disability, your application for disability benefits
must be either received by the division or post-
marked within 90 days after termination of employ-
ment. For an application packet or for more
information, contact the Disability/Appeals Unit.

Caution: If you refund your contribution account
instead of applying for a disability benefit, you are
no longer eligible for that benefit or any future PERS
retirement benefit or associated system-paid
medical insurance benefits.

Returning to PERS Employment

If you return to PERS employment in a PERS-
covered position with a PERS employer, and have
taken a refund, you may reinstate your refunded
service by paying back the full amount plus interest.

If you return to employment with a PERS employer
after June 30, 2010, and have taken a refund, prior
service cannot be reestablished and your former tier
benefit status will be forfeited.

If you are retiring from state employment you may
return to work in any non-PERS participating
position without limitations.

You may also work in a temporary, nonpermanent
PERS position or on a personal services contract
without affecting your retirement benefits.

If you return to work in a permanent PERS-covered
position after normal retirement—not early retire-
ment and/or a Retirement Incentive Program (RIP)—




you have two options available regarding your
monthly benefit payments: the Standard Option and
the Waiver Option.

When you return to work in a permanent position
after an early retirement, you can only choose the
Standard Option. Under the Standard Option your
retirement benefit will be suspended until you
terminate employment. PERS contributions will be
deducted and you will accrue PERS service.

With the Waiver Option you will continue to receive
your retirement benefit payments. You will not pay
any PERS contributions and you will not accrue
PERS service. Your retiree health insurance is
suspended during employment under the waiver.
The Waiver Option became effective July 1, 2005.
Waivers terminate on June 30, 2009. If you remain
employed after that date your retirement benefit will
be suspended, you will make PERS contributions
and earn additional PERS setrvice.

Caution: There are some restrictions for those who
retired under a RIP.

For more information, read your Information Hand-
book, the PERS brochure, Working After PERS Retire-
ment, or contact the division.

Repaying Refunds or Indebtedness

Under certain circumstances you may repay a
claimed service indebtedness or a refund from the
PERS through pretax transfers from your Alaska
Supplemental Annuity or Deferred Compensation
Plan. You may also transfer a pretax payment from
other qualifying plans. This option is available upon
termination or while you are still in-service. It is not
available if you are retired. Contact the division's
Defined Benefits Accounting section for specific
information. You may also repay an indebtedness
with after-tax payments to the PERS.




WARNING:

If you refund, you forfeit all your retirement
benefits, including future pension and medical
coverage. You will not be eligible for PERS
benefits unless you return to PERS employment
and reinstate the refunded service or accumulate
enough paid-up service to be vested again. You
may only reinstate refunded service if you
reemploy on or before June 30, 2010.

Alaska Supplemental Annuity Plan

You are first eligible to receive payment of your Alaska
Supplemental Annuity Plan (SBS-AP), account when
you have been terminated for at least 60 days,
provided you are not rehired by the same employer
before the 60 days have passed.

If you have completed a Benefit Payment Election form
(02-210) to receive payment of your account, the
SBS-AP will verify you are eligible to receive pay-
ment and set up the final payment instructions
after the 60 days have passed. Actual payment of
your account, if all required forms are complete, will
take up to 30 days after the 60-day eligibility
period. Partial account payments will be allowed up
to two times per calendar year, after the 60 day
termination requirement has been met. Payments
must be a minimum of $1,000 or the amount of the
balance, whichever is less. Reemployment with the
same SBS-AP employer ends SBS-AP payment
eligibility.

You are not required to complete an SBS-AP
election form unless you are planning to refund your
account. However, to defer payment beyond age 65
you must complete a Benefit Payment Election form
(02-210) that includes a payment deferral date. After
you terminate, you may defer payment of your
account for any length of time until April 1 of the
year after you turn 70%; however, payments must
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begin no later than April 1 of the year after you turn
70%. The balance of your annuity account will
continue to change in value depending on market
conditions.

The SBS-AP is required to withhold 20% for federal
income tax on:

(1) lump-sum payments paid directly to
participants and

(2) monthly payments for the five-year certain
annuity option.

The 20% withholding does not apply to SBS-AP
lump-sum payments transferred plan-to-plan, into
other qualified plans. You cannot transfer SBS-
Annuity Plan money to a ROTH IRA.

The federal government may also impose a tax
penalty of 10% of distribution amounts, in addition
to regular taxes due, when SBS-AP accounts are
withdrawn before age 59 under the lump sum and
five, ten, or 15-year certain payment options.

There may be exceptions allowed by the federal
government. Contact the Internal Revenue Service or
a tax expert for details before paying the penalty.

Important information about payments and taxes is
included as part of the instructions to the Benefit
Payment Election form (02-210). This form is available
on the Division website. If you have questions,
contact the Supplemental Annuity Plan at

(907) 465-1600.

Alaska Deferred Compensation Plan

If you have participated in the Alaska Deferred
Compensation Plan (DCP), your normal monthly
contribution will not be withheld from your termina-
tion paycheck unless you request it. At termination
you may request up to the maximum allowable
amount to be withheld and placed into your DCP
from your terminal leave amount. The amount of
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terminal leave allowed to be deferred will depend on
your particular situation. Terminal leave deferral
must be set up in the month before actual termi-
nation takes place.

You are eligible to receive payment of your Deferred
Compensation Plan (DCP) account after you
terminate. You are not required to complete a DCP
benefit payment election form unless you wish to
receive payment.

If you do not want to receive payment of your DCP
account, you may defer payment to April 1 of the
calendar year following the year you attain age 70%.

To receive the payment option of your choice, you
must complete a DCP Benefit Payment Election form
(DCPOOI ).

The DCP is required to withhold 20% for federal
income tax on:

(1) lump-sum payments paid directly to
participants,

(2) monthly payments for the five-year certain
annuity option, and

(3) periodic payments with a term of less than
ten years.

The 20% withholding does not apply to DCP lump-
sum payments transferred directly, through a
plan-to-plan transfer, into a qualified plan. You
cannot transfer DCP money to a ROTH IRA.

When your termination date is verified, important
information about payments and taxes will be
mailed to you along with a DCP Benefit Payment
Election form (DCP001). You may also find the form
and instructions on the division's website. If you
have questions, contact the Deferred Compensation
Plan at (907) 465-4433.
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Medical Coverage

Medical coverage and participation in the Health
Flexible Spending Account (HFSA) ends on the last
day of the month in which you terminate (or are last
in pay status, whichever is earlier). You may submit
claims for services incurred prior to coverage
termination.

Information about continuing health coverage, the
plans and premiums are available from your human
resources office, or online at www.state.ak.us/drb.

If you are covered by the AlaskaCare plan at the time
of your termination, you may purchase health and
HFSA coverage after you terminate employment.
You are eligible to continue the same or less
coverage you had at the time of termination.

If you are covered by a Union Trust Health Plan at
the time of your termination, contact your union
health trust for information regarding health care
coverage.

Life Insurance

Life insurance ends on the last day of the month in
which you terminate (or are last in pay status,
whichever is earlier). If you wish to continue your life
insurance coverage after retirement, you must apply
for it on your application for retirement benefits
before you are appointed a retirement benefit.

You may convert your Optional, Select or SBS Life
Insurance coverage to a private policy with the life
insurance carrier. Coverage will be a whole life policy
and the premiums will be substantially different
from the rate you are currently paying.

To convert to a private policy, you must complete a
conversion form and pay the required premiums.
Your conversion form must be received by the life
insurance carrier within 31 days of the date your life
insurance terminates.




Contact the Insurance Benefits Section at
(907) 465-8600 for the required forms and
premiums.

Beneficiary Designations

Please review your beneficiary designations periodi-
cally and make any necessary changes. Many people
forget to update their designations when they marry,
divorce, their spouse dies, or a beneficiary's address
changes. Contact the Division of Retirement and
Benefits if you need to change your designations for
the:

& Public Employees' Retirement System (PERS)

¢ Alaska Supplemental Annuity Plan (SBS-AP)
¢ Alaska Deferred Compensation Plan (DCP)

A separate designation form is required for each
benefit.

Beneficiary designations on file at the time of
death determine the payout, not your will.

Forms are available on the division’s website or
from your Human Resources Office. It is important
to keep your beneficiary designations and beneficiary
addresses up to date.

Forms Reminder

You may be required to complete (or provide) the
following forms when you leave state employment:

Refund Election form (GEN00S)

To receive a refund of your PERS contributions, you
must complete and submit this form to the division.
It will take about 70 days to issue the refund check.
You must be terminated for at least 60 days and it
takes an additional 10 days to complete the refund
Process.
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SBS Benefit Payment Election form (02-210)

To receive payment of your SBS-AP account, you
must complete and return this form to the division.
You may elect to receive payment of your annuity
account now or defer payment until a later date.

DCP Benefit Payment Election form (DCP001)

To receive payment of your DCP account, you must
complete and return this form to the division. You
may elect to receive payment of your account now or
defer payment until a later date.

Health Continuation Enrollment

If you are covered by the state health plan and wish
to purchase continued health and HFSA coverage,
your enrollment form must be received by the claim
administrator within 60 days of your termination.

Life Conversion Application

To convert your Optional, Select or SBS Life Insur-
ance coverage to a private policy, your form must be
received by the life insurance carrier within 31 days
of the date your life insurance terminates.

Evidence of Birth Date form (02-823)

You must provide proof of your birth date if you are
selecting a single-life or joint and survivor annuity
under the SBS-AP or DCP. Proof of your spouse’s
birth date (form 02-823a) is also required if you
select a joint and survivor annuity.

Divorce or Dissolution of Marriage

If you were married while working in any PERS-
covered position and have subsequently divorced,
you will need to submit court-certified copies of
your decree or property settlement if you are
electing a refund of contributions.




Address Changes

Prior to leaving State service, contact your Human
Resources Office to change your address in the state
payroll system.

After you terminate, if you have money in PERS,
Deferred Compensation Plan (DCP), or Supplemen-
tal Annuity Plan (SBS-AP), you must notify each
plan to change your address. You may change your
address by sending written, signed requests with
your Retirement Identification number (RIN) or your
Social Security number to the division’s Juneau
office.

Always keep your address current so you will
receive important information regarding your
benefits.

Writing the Division

Print your full name, address, and telephone
number on your letter. Be sure to include your
Retirement Identification number (RIN) or your
Social Security number and sign and date any
request for information or action.

Department of Administration
Division of Retirement and Benefits

PO. Box 110203
Juneau, AK 99811-0203
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Calling the Division

When calling the Division, please tell the reception-
ist why you are calling and have your Retirement
Identification Number (RIN) or your Social Security
number ready. You will be transferred to the appro-
priate section.

In Juneau (907) 465-4460 FAX (907) 465-3086
Outside Juneau: Toll-free 1-800-821-2251
TDD for the hearing impaired (907) 465-2805

Phone FAX
Pre-retirement Services (907) 465-5700 (907) 465-3086
Retirement Processing  (907) 465-1477 (907) 465-3086
Pension Adjustments 907) 465-1400 (907) 465-3086

Insurance Benefits 907) 465-8600 (907) 465-4668

( (907)
(907) (907)
(907) (907)
(907) (907)
Deferred Compensation (907) 465-4433 (907) 465- 2341
(907) (907)
(907) (907)
(907) (907)
(907) (907)

Retiree Payroll 907) 465-1447 (907) 465-3363
SBS Annuity 907) 465-1600 (907) 465-2341
Refund Services 907) 465-1444 (907) 465-3291
Indebtedness 907) 465-1444 (907) 465-3291

Visiting the Division

If you are planning to visit the Division, please call
ahead for an appointment. This saves valuable time
and allows us to review your records and prepare for
your visit.

The office is open Monday through Friday between 8 am and
5 pm, with limited staff working in Juneau during the noon
hour and from 4:30 to 5 pm.

Main Office Location
6th Floor of the State Office Building
333 Willoughby Avenue, Juneau

Anchorage Field Office (By Appointment Only)
550 West 7th, Ste 1690, Anchorage




Retirement & Benefits Online

Our website, www.state.ak.us/drb contains
information about your retirement benefits, medical
coverage, insurance benefits, Alaska Supplemental
Annuity Plan, Alaska Deferred Compensation Plan,
retiree check mailing dates, email contacts, forms,
and much more.

E-mail Contacts
Accounting Section
accountingsection@admin.state.ak.us
Benefits Attachment Unit
qdro@admin state.ak.us

Death Benefit Unit
survivorbenefits@admin state.ak.us
Deferred Compensation Plan
dcp@admin state.ak.us

Dependent Care Reimbursement Account
dcra@admin state.ak.us
Disability/Appeals Unit
disability@admin.state.ak.us
Insurance Benefits Section
benefits@admin.state.ak.us

Pension Adjustments Unit
pensionadjustments@admin state.ak.us
Pre-Retirement Services Unit
preretirementservices@admin.state.ak.us
Retiree Payroll Section
retireepayroll@admin state.ak.us
Retirement Processing Unit
retirementprocessing@admin state.ak.us

Supplemental Annuity Plan
sbs@admin.state.ak.us
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Checklist Reminder

Be sure to check the status of your:

PERS Contributions

Alaska Deferred Compensation Plan
Alaska Supplemental Annuity Plan
Indebtedness

Life Insurance

Medical Insurance

Beneficiaries

Address Changes

Required Forms

Ny B N Ay A Ry A

Option to convert to Defined
Contribution Retirement Plan
(nonvested members only)
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