Alaska State Library Historical Collections

Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development [List of commissioners and deputy commissioners] 1959 – Present

Compiled by Daniel Cornwall, Alaska State Library August 2007 Revised by Sara Bornstein, 4/2013

Lewis M. Dischner (1959-1960)

Source: Alaska Blue Book 1973, p. 48

Bjorn "Gil" Johnson (1960-1966)

Source: Alaska Blue Book 1973, p. 48

Thomas J. Moore (1967-1970)

Source: Alaska Blue Book 1973, p. 48

Henry A. Benson (1970-1972)

Source: Alaska Blue Book 1973, p. 48

Robert A. Smith (1972 – December 1974(?))

Source: Alaska Blue Book 1973, p. 48, end date implied by Alaska Blue Book 1981.

Edmund Orbeck (January 1975 – November 28, 1982(?))

Source: Alaska Blue Book 1981, p. 15-16, includes small b&w photo. End date is implied by Alaska Blue Book 1985

Jim Robison (November 29, 1982 – January 5, 1987(?))

Source: Alaska Blue Book 1985, p. 40, includes small b&w photo. End date is implied by Alaska Blue Book 1989-90

Jim Sampson (January 6, 1987 - January 1, 1991(?))

Source: Alaska Blue Book 1989-90, p. 14, includes small b&w photo. End date is implied by Alaska Blue Book 1991-92.

Nancy Bear Usera (January 2, 1991 – February 23(?), 1992)

Source: Alaska Blue Book 1991-92, p. 14, includes small b&w photo. End date is implied by Alaska Blue Book 1993-94.

Charles Mahlen (February 24, 1992 – February 12, 1995(?))

Source: Alaska Blue Book 1993-94, p. 14, includes small b&w photo). End date

Is implied by Alaska House Journal 1995, p. 399.

Tom Cashen (February 13, 1995 - December 1998)

Sources: Alaska House Journal 1995, p. 399 and Governor's Press Release 99-006 (for end date).

Ed Flannagan (January 12, 1999 - 2002)

(Sources: Governor's Press Release 99-006 and Internet Archive copies of Alaska Department of Labor at http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.labor.state.ak.us/commish/home.htm)

Greg O'Claray (2003 – 2007)

(Source: Internet Archive copies of Alaska Department of Labor at http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.labor.state.ak.us/commish/home.htm)

Click Bishop (January 11, 2007 – March 2012)

(Source: http://www.gov.state.ak.us/news.php?id=68, Governor News Release 07-008). Serving as of August 2007.

Dianne Blumer – Appointed May 17, 2012

(Source: http://gov.alaska.gov/parnell/press-room/full-press-release.html?pr=6139, Governor Press Release)