Governor's Advisory Council on Libraries


Advises State Library Administration on the federal LSTA plan, development, and evaluation of library services in Alaska.

12 members: 6 members appointed by the Governor; 5 members nominated by the Alaska Library Association; broadly representative of the library profession, library users, and the economically and culturally disadvantaged. At least 1/3 shall represent users; 5 shall be official representatives of the Alaska Library Association, including the immediate past-president of the Alaska Library Association. The State Librarian serves as an ex-officio, nonvoting member. Council elects chair.

Immediate Comment Needed on DRAFT Alaska State Plan 2018-2022

The Governor’s Advisory Council on Libraries and the Alaska State Library need your help to finalize the Alaska State Plan for 2018-2022.

The draft plan (PDF) guides how the State Library will spend Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds for 2018 through 2022. LSTA funds impact many statewide library programs and services and are used for continuing education travel grants for library staff and competitive project grants for libraries.

Please review the state plan and send your comments and suggestions at by Friday, June 23. If your time is limited, you may want to focus on the three goals (pages 8-17), with objectives and activities that support each goal. These pages are the heart of the state plan.

Thank you for taking the time to help the State Library and the Governor’s Advisory Council develop a state plan that we hope will meet the needs of the Alaska library community through 2022.

Review Alaska State Plan 2018-2022

Additional Information

LSTA Alaska State Plan 2013-2017 (PDF)

LSTA Alaska State Plan 2008-2012 (Revised 2007) (PDF)

LSTA Five-Year Evaluation Report 2008 – 2012 (PDF)

LSTA Alaska State Plan 2008 -2012 (PDF)

2003-3007 Evaluation (PDF)

LSTA Alaska State Plan 2003-2007

1998-2002 Evaluation

LSTA Alaska State Plan 1998-2002

Members of the Council

Department: Department of Education & Early Development
Board Identification Number: 057
Authority: PL 101-254
Status: Active
Term: 3 years
Chair: Council selects
Compensation: Standard travel and per diem. No additional compensation
Meetings: One official meeting and two to three teleconferences per year, five to six days maximum

Contact Information

Patience Frederiksen
Director, Division of Libraries, Archives, & Museums, DEED
395 Whittier St
Juneau, AK 99801
Phone: 907.465.2911
Fax: 907.465.2151

Page last updated 06/16/2017

Division of Libraries, Archives & Museums
Department of Education & Early Development

Alaska State Library
& Historical Collections

Information Services:
907.465.2920 |

Historical Collections:
907.465.2925 |

Alaska State Library
& Talking Book Center

Phone: 1.888.820.4525

  • Ask A Question
  • Offer Suggestions

Your Information:


Phone: (optional)


Agency: (optional)


Your Info:


Phone: (optional)

Email: (optional)


I suggest you...

Descibe your suggestion...