Skip to content Back to top

Governor's Advisory Council on Libraries


The Council advises the Alaska State Library on federal Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds that are used to develop library services in Alaska.

12 members: 6 members appointed by the Governor; 5 members nominated by the Alaska Library Association; broadly representative of the library profession, library users, and the economically and culturally disadvantaged. At least 1/3 shall represent users; 5 shall be official representatives of the Alaska Library Association, including the immediate past-president of the Alaska Library Association. The State Librarian serves as an ex-officio, nonvoting member. Council elects chair.

Additional Information

Department: Department of Education & Early Development
Board Identification Number: 057
Authority: PL 101-254
Status: Active
Term: 3 years
Chair: Council selects
Compensation: Standard travel and per diem. No additional compensation
Meetings: One official meeting and two to three teleconferences per year, five to six days maximum

Contact Information

Patience Frederiksen
Director, Division of Libraries, Archives, & Museums, DEED
395 Whittier St
Juneau, AK 99801
Phone: 907.465.2911
Fax: 907.465.2151
Email Patience

Page last updated 04/11/2018