Skip to content
Back to top

Alaska's Digital Newspaper Program

About the Program

The Alaska State Library was awarded a National Endowment for the Humanities and Library of Congress grant for the 2016-2018 cycle of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). The purpose of the program is to digitally preserve and provide free access to historical newspapers in a searchable online database, Chronicling America. Currently, Alaska has added over 103,000 pages to Chronicling America. Available titles are linked below.

For more information & project updates, follow us on our WordPress blog or Instagram @alaskahistoricalnewspapers. Learn more about the history of the Alaska Newspaper project.

2016-2018 Titles Selected for Digitization

Map of Alaska: Towns with Digitized Newspapers Fairbanks Skagway Juneau Douglas City Sitka Cordova Valdez Seward Iditarod Nome
  1. Juneau
  2. Douglas City
  3. Sitka
  4. Skagway
  5. Valdez
  6. Iditarod
  7. Cordova
  8. Seward
  9. Fairbanks
  10. Nome
    • The Nome Nugget, 1901-1906
    • The Nome Daily Nugget, 1906-1918
    • The Nome Tri-Weekly Nugget, 1918-1919
    • The Nome Nugget, 1919-1922

See all Alaska's Historic Newspapers on Chronicling America »

Advisory Committee Members, Past and Present

  • Chris Allan
    Gates of the Arctic National Park and Preserve
    National Park Service, Fairbanks
  • Jo Antonson
    Alaska State Historian
    Office of History and Archeology, Anchorage
  • Michael Blackwell
    Consulting Geological Engineer
    Historical Researcher, Gastineau Historical Society
  • Jason Russell
    Archivist/Technical Services Librarian
    Tuzzy Consortium Library
  • Michael Carey
    Editorial columnist
    Formerly editorial page editor for the Alaska Dispatch News (formerly called the Anchorage Daily News)
  • James Brooks
    State Reporter
    Juneau Empire
  • Esther Ilutsik
    Director of Yup'ik Studies with the Southwest Region Schools
  • Rebecca Moorman
    Head of Technical Services
    Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage
    Alaska Pacific University, with a degree in history
  • David Noon
    Associate Professor of History
    University of Alaska Southeast
  • Barbara Thompson
    Second Vice Chair
    Alaska State Board of Education
  • Marjorie Thompson
    Digital Photographic Services
    Rasmuson Library, University of Alaska Fairbanks
  • Jennifer Ward, MLIS
    Associate Professor of Library and Information Science, Outreach Services Librarian
    Egan Library

Page last updated 02/28/2020